Reset mac mini without cd

In these instances, you will need to load the Recover tool onto an external USB drive before attempting to reset your Mac to factory settings. Warning When you erase your hard drive using the OS X Recovery utility, all of your personal files and data will be wiped from the computer. Make sure that your information is backed up to an external hard drive beforehand. Video of the Day. Brought to you by Techwalla. Maybe your Mac is playing up, and you want to see whether installing a clean copy of macOS fixes the issue? You may even want to consider actively wiping your data before reinstalling macOS, especially if you plan to sell your Mac, or donate it to a lucky friend or relative.

If you do decide to wipe the slate clean, then as soon as you encounter the macOS Utilities window, make sure you:. Your Mac will now reinstall macOS. If you plan to sell your MacBook or pass it along to someone else, then you should quit this wizard so that the new owner can enter their own details. As long as you have an active Internet connection, you can reinstall macOS via Internet Recovery instead. Part of this includes deauthorizing your computer in iTunes, which will remove any personalized login information. However, you should also restore a Mac to its factory settings if you plan on selling or gifting it to someone else.

Backup the Mac Mini

Looking for more Apple-centric tutorials? Take one last look around, and double check to make sure your Mac is currently connected to the internet, preferably through a hard-line connection. Once done, select the Restart… option in the Apple menu, and wait patiently for your Mac to shut down and begin its startup procedure. During the restart process, before the login screen, your computer will show a gray slate screen.

Resetting a Mac mini to original factory … - Apple Community

This should open the Utilities pane, where you can make various important and potentially dangerous changes. Here, select Disk Utility.

How to Reformat your Mac without a Recovery Disk!

Select this option and click on the Erase tab. Then, select Erase again. This may take some time.


  1. heroes of might and magic 3 mac os lion;
  2. fun apps to download on mac.
  3. native instruments service center download mac.
  4. How to Erase and Factory Reset Your Mac!
  5. george window cleaning for mac.
  6. How to Factory Reset MacBook/iMac Without Losing Data [12222 Resolved].
  7. mac blush peachy keen review.

Select this, confirm that you really want to do it, and proceed. You may have to click through a few confirmations before the installation is ready to begin. Once connected, your Mac can look for its original source material and download a new, off-the-assembly-line version of all its settings.

Looking to wipe your laptop? Here’s how to restore a Mac to its factory settings

Note: This download solution only works with newer versions of MacOS. Also , when you reinstall MacOS you will see a setup assistant that will ask you basic questions regarding your region and so on. Instead, hold down the Command and Q keys, and select Shut Down. If you want, you can fully reinstall a version of MacOS without erasing any of your past data permanently.

Nevertheless, if you plan on moving forward with the procedure, follow the steps below. Step 1: Shut down your Mac and restart it as you would normally. Immediately after turning your computer on, hold down the Command and R keys, then release the keys when you see the Apple logo. This will open the Utilities window. Keep in mind, however, that you still need to back up the data you want to save.

If you already use Time Machine to store backups of your data, you can also use it to restore a particular version of your Mac. To restore settings via Time Machine, just follow the steps below:.


  • command line browser mac os x;
  • Common Reason for Restoring Mac to Factory Settings.
  • How to reinstall macOS, even without Recovery Mode;
  • All replies.
  • If you plan on selling or giving away your computer to another user, you should also make sure you have fully deauthorized both your Mac and any connected devices before you restore your Mac to its original factory settings.